Unions split from South Coast Labor Council

May 19, 1999

Unions split from South Coast Labor Council

By Andrew Hall

WOLLONGONG — A number of trade unions that backed the defeated challenge to the leadership of the South Coast Labor Council (SCLC) have begun to disaffiliate in order to establish a new regional peak body of unions, the Illawarra Council of Trade Unions. A committee is currently drawing up rules and a constitution to be put to breakaway unions on May 19.

The disaffiliations follow the March 24 re-election of the Paul Matters-led SCLC leadership. The Transport Workers Union, NSW Nurses Association, Australian Workers Union, Liquor, Hospitality, and Miscellaneous Workers Union, Australian Manufacturing Workers Union, Electrical Trades Union, National Tertiary Education Industry Union and the Public Transport Union have joined the CFMEU, which disaffiliated two years ago, to establish the new body. The Community and Public Sector Union is expected to follow. The unions involved represent about one-third of the Illawarra region's union members.

You need Green Left, and we need you!

Green Left is funded by contributions from readers and supporters. Help us reach our funding target.

Make a One-off Donation or choose from one of our Monthly Donation options.

Become a supporter to get the digital edition for $5 per month or the print edition for $10 per month. One-time payment options are available.

You can also call 1800 634 206 to make a donation or to become a supporter. Thank you.