Women a majority in new ACT parliament

A majority of ACT MPs are women.

For the first time in ACT history, the majority of politicians elected to the Legislative Assembly are women. The final results revealed 52% of the ACT's politicians, or 13 out of 25, were women.

The final result of the election for the expanded 25-seat Assembly, held on October 15, was announced by Electoral Commissioner Phil Green on October 26. The make-up of the parliament will be Labor 12 members, the Liberals 11 and the Greens two.

The ACT has five seats with five members in each, with seats allocated using the Hare-Clark system. Labor and the Greens have confirmed they will continue to form government, making it the longest continuously serving government in Australia.

Like the article? Subscribe to Green Left now! You can also like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.