COVID, capitalism and ecology: With Rob Wallace and Mike Davis

Rob Wallace (left) and Mike Davis (right)

The Global Ecosocialist Network, in conjunction with System Change Not Climate Change will be hosting a conversation with authors Mike Davis and Rob Wallace this weekend.

Mike Davis is the author of The Monster Enters: COVID-19, Avian Flu and the Plagues of Capitalism (OR Books, 2020). Rob Wallace is the author of Dead Epidemiologists: On the Origins of COVID-19 (Monthly Review Press, 2020).

Their 90 minute online conversation will be hosted by Sabrina Fernandes (Brazil) and Ian Angus (Canada). Questions from online participants are encouraged.

In his latest book, The Monster Enters: COVID-19, Avian Flu and the plagues of capitalism, Davis sets the current crisis in the context of previous viral catastrophes, and surveys the scientific and political roots of today’s viral apocalypse. He shows how agribusiness and the fast-food industries, abetted by corrupt governments and a capitalist global system careening out of control, created the ecological pre-conditions for the new plague.

Wallace has just released his latest work, Dead Epidemiologists: On the Origins of COVID-19. It offers a compelling diagnosis of the roots of COVID-19, and a stark prognosis of what — without further intervention — may come.

The event is sponsored by the Global Ecosocialist Network and System Change Not Climate Change.

TIMES
Saturday, October 17, 2020
Los Angeles: 10:00am
Toronto & New York: 1:00pm
Rio de Janeiro: 2:00pm
London & Dublin: 6:00pm
Paris & Cape Town: 7:00pm
New Delhi, India: 10:30 pm

Sunday, October 18, 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: 1:00 am
Manila, Philippines: 1:00 am
Sydney, Australia: 4:00 am
Auckland, New Zealand: 6:00 am

To join the livestream (or watch the event later):
Twitter
: https://twitter.com/GEcoSocialistN
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GlobalEcosocialistNetwork/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCje6rp5x8eRIROQoUf00bwA 

Facebook Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/706836646568777

If you like our work, become a supporter

Green Left is a vital social-change project and aims to make all content available online, without paywalls. With no corporate sponsors or advertising, we rely on support and donations from readers like you.

For just $5 per month get the Green Left digital edition in your inbox each week. For $10 per month get the above and the print edition delivered to your door. You can also add a donation to your support by choosing the solidarity option of $20 per month.

Freecall now on 1800 634 206 or follow the support link below to make a secure supporter payment or donation online.