Petition: Reject racism – for unity and solidarity

October 2, 2012

This public statement was released on October 3 and was initiated by the signatories below. To add your name to the statement visit here.

* * *

Media distortions of a recent protest by members of the Muslim community in Sydney, Australia, have ignited a new wave of racist abuse and vilification against Muslims and people of Middle Eastern background, who are being targeted for abuse on the basis of their clothing and appearance. This reaction has been egged on by media shock jocks and by far right, racist groups.

Racism is being used across the globe to divide workers and to deflect the blame for mounting economic insecurity away from the real enemy – the corporate fat cats.

We reject this new wave of racism, and stand in solidarity with our Muslim brothers and sisters against these attacks.

Now more than ever, workers of all racial and religious backgrounds should unite against the cuts to jobs, health, education and welfare driven by the insatiable greed of the one percent.

Initiating signatories:

Sam Watson (Brisbane Murri community activist)
Pat Eatock (veteran Aboriginal activist)
Ray Jackson (President Indigenous Social Justice Association)
Samah Sabawi (Palestinian writer and human rights advocate)
Sylvia Hale (former Greens NSW MLC)
John Pilger (journalist and film maker)
Kellie Tranter (lawyers and human rights activist)
Tim Gooden (Secretary, Geelong Trades Hall Council)
Ian Bray & Warren Smith (Assistant National Secretaries, Maritime Union of Australia)
Rev. David B Smith (Holy Trinity Church, Dulwich Hill NSW)
Terry Fitzpatrick (community leader, St Marys In Exile)
Antony Loewenstein (independent journalist and author)
Mohamad Tabbaa (researcher and Phd student, Melbourne University)
Dave Kerin (Earthworker Co-operative project worker)
Mark Goudkamp (activist with Refugee Action Coalition, NSW Teachers Federation anti-racism policy committee and Solidarity)
Stuart Munckton & Simon Butler (Green Left Weekly editors)
Dr Sarah Gregson (President, National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) UNSW Branch)
Susan Price (Secretary, NTEU University of NSW Branch)
Dr Jeremy Smith (President, NTEU, Ballarat University Branch)
Michael Thompson (President, NTEU University of Sydney Branch)
Steve McCartney (Western Australian state secretary AMWU)
Dr Helen Masterman-Smith (Senior Lecturer, Charles Sturt University)
Professor Carole Ferrier (Literature and Women's Studies, University of Queensland)
Luke van der Meulen (trade union organiser)
Jepke Goudsmit, Director (Kinetic Energy Theatre Company)
Graham Jones, Director (Kinetic Energy Theatre Company)
Pip Hinman (activist with Sydney Stop The War Coalition)
Raul Bassi (Palestine and Aboriginal rights activist)
Vivienne Porzsolt (activist with Jews Against the Occupation)
Hans Baer (Associate Professor, School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Melbourne)
Rachel Evans (anti-homophobia activist)
Duncan Roden & Gemma Weedall (national coordinators, Resistance)
Dianne Fields (Socialist Alternative)
Peter Boyle (National Co-Convenor Socialist Alliance)
Dr Hannah Middleton (General Secretary, Communist Party of Australia)
Sam Wainwright (Socialist Alliance councillor, City of Fremantle)
Ian Rintoul (Solidarity)
Steve Jolly & Anthony Main (Socialist Party councillors, City of Yarra, Melbourne)

Organisations listed for identification purposes only.

You need Green Left, and we need you!

Green Left is funded by contributions from readers and supporters. Help us reach our funding target.

Make a One-off Donation or choose from one of our Monthly Donation options.

Become a supporter to get the digital edition for $5 per month or the print edition for $10 per month. One-time payment options are available.

You can also call 1800 634 206 to make a donation or to become a supporter. Thank you.